Category Archives: Special Diets

Gluten-Free Sources of Fiber

Was this page helpful? Thanks for your feedback! Following a gluten-free diet can be challenging. We’re here to help. Sign up and receive our free recipe guide for delicious gluten-free meals! Email Address Sign Up There was an error. Please try again. Thank you, , for signing up. What are your concerns? Other Inaccurate Hard to Understand Submit Source link

Read more

Should You Eat Gluten-Free Foods From a Shared Facility or Equipment?

If you follow the gluten-free diet because you have celiac disease or​ non-celiac gluten sensitivity, you may need to be cautious with foods made in the same facility as wheat-containing or gluten-containing foods, or with foods made ​on the same equipment or foods that say “may contain traces of wheat.” Although some of these foods may qualify legally as “gluten-free,” they still may contain tiny amounts of gluten… potentially enough to make you sick. Food labeling laws in the United States are tricky, and […]

Read more

10 Gluten-Free Vegetarian and Vegan Breakfast and Brunch Ideas

Traditional breakfast or brunch dishes such as Western omelets, bacon, quiche, and whole wheat muffins don’t work very well when you’re following a gluten-free vegetarian or vegan diet. But luckily, the fact that your diet doesn’t follow a conventional pattern allows you to discover some really delicious—and innovative—breakfast and brunch recipes. In the list below, there’s a combination of the sweet (vegetarian cheesecake and crêpes) with the savory (omelets, tofu scramble and avocado salad). You can mix and […]

Read more

Is Seitan Really Gluten-Free?

Seitan is about as far from gluten-free as you can get — it’s made by taking flour from wheat (wheat, barley, and rye are, of course, the three main gluten grains) and washing away the starch in the flour to leave mainly protein. This process leaves behind a rubbery, meat-like substance that’s easily seasoned and then substituted for meat in a variety of vegetarian and vegan dishes. Since the protein left behind in seitan once that starch is […]

Read more

Safe Gluten-Free Bean Options

Why should you worry about gluten in beans—they’re a naturally gluten-free food, right? Well, yes, but they’re also a food that’s subject to significant gluten cross-contamination… and that can be a problem for those of us with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. How does this contamination with gluten occur? Well, it mostly happens in farmers’ fields—it’s common for farmers to grow beans and gluten grain crops in rotation, and they use the same planting, harvesting and […]

Read more

What You Should Know About a Gluten-Free Diet

A gluten-free diet doesn’t contain any gluten, or it’s in such small amounts it’s difficult to measure in your kitchen. Gluten is a protein found in grains such as wheat, barley, and rye. It’s important for baking bread, pastries, and other baked goods because the gluten helps provide texture and elasticity to the dough. The gluten allows the dough to rise by trapping carbon dioxide bubbles created by the yeast and sugar. Gluten is present in other […]

Read more

Nutrisystem and the Gluten-Free Diet

If you’ve been diagnosed with Celiac disease and are thinking about going on Nutrisystem to lose weight, I’ve got good news and bad news for you. First, the bad news: Sadly, Nutrisystem isn’t going to work for anyone who’s gluten-free, and especially for someone with diagnosed celiac disease. Nutrisystem—a weight-loss program that includes mainly prepared food—requires participants to purchase their meals directly from the company. Almost all those meals contain gluten ingredients, placing them completely off-limits to those […]

Read more

Does ‘Wheat-Free’ Mean the Same As ‘Gluten-Free’?

Many people believe the term “wheat-free” is interchangeable with the term “gluten-free.” Unfortunately, that’s not the case. In fact, in many cases foods labeled as “wheat-free” contain some gluten. It’s also possible for foods that are labeled “gluten-free” to contain wheat-based ingredients, such as wheat starch. Why Gluten and Wheat Are Not Synonymous Gluten is found in wheat, and many people think of “gluten” as coming only from wheat. That’s where the confusion comes in—people see the phrase […]

Read more

The Atkins Diet Program and the Gluten-Free Diet

You absolutely can follow the Atkins low-carb diet if you’re also following the gluten-free diet. In fact, the Atkins diet—which cuts carbohydrates from grains to zero in the diet’s initial weeks and then gradually ramps them back up—shares the title (along with the South Beach Diet) as one of the most gluten-free-diet-friendly weight loss programs around. In fact, some people actually discover their sensitivity to gluten grains (wheat, barley and rye) when they start Atkins. When this […]

Read more

Jenny Craig Weight Loss and the Gluten-Free Diet

The Jenny Craig weight loss program, like some others, including Nutrisystem, requires you to purchase most of your food direct from the company. Unfortunately for those of us with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity, Jenny Craig does not include menu options that would suit people on a gluten-free diet. In fact, a quick glance at Jenny Craig’s prepared meal offerings shows they’re mainly gluten-based, lots of whole grain products, pasta, bread, crackers, and pizza. The company advertises […]

Read more

What Foods Have Gluten in Them?

Lots and lots of foods have gluten. In fact, if you look at your typical breakfast menu, lunch selection or dinner table, the odds are good that most of the foods on there will contain gluten in some form or another. Think: cereal, pasta, bread, cake and cookies, not to mention many, many processed foods. The question almost should be: What foods don’t have gluten? Gluten 101: Why Gluten Is in So Many Foods First, let’s cover […]

Read more

Is Freekeh Gluten-Free?

Freekeh is not gluten-free. Freekeh—which is found most often in Middle Eastern dishes—is actually another name for green wheat that has been roasted and then cracked. Since wheat contains gluten (as do the other two gluten grains, barley, and rye), freekeh most definitely is not gluten-free, and anyone following the gluten-free diet because they have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity needs to avoid anything containing freekeh. Freekeh also is called frik or farik. They’re the same thing, so avoid all of them if you need to […]

Read more
1 2 3 5